BANNOCKBURN, IL and LAS VEGAS – IPC announced the winners of the Best U.S. and International Papers during IPC APEX EXPO. The event’s Technical Program Committee chose the winners through a ballot process.
The U.S. Best Paper honor went to “Validated Test Method to Characterize and Quantify Pad Cratering under BGA Pads on Printed Circuit Boards,” by Mudasir Ahmad, Cisco Systems Inc., co-authored by Jennifer Burlingame and Cherif Guirguis, Cisco Systems Inc.
The International Best Paper award went to Dr. Polina Snugovsky, Celestica International Inc., for “Rework Process Window and Microstructural Analysis for Lead-free Mirrored BGA Design Points.” Matthew Kelly and Mitchell Ferrill from IBM Corporation, and Rupen Trivedi, Gaby Dinca, Chris Achong and Zohreh Bagheri, all from Celestica International Inc. shared in the honor as co-authors.

Three U.S. Honorable Mention awards were presented to: David Rae, Unovis Solutions, for “Optimizing the Automated Assembly Process for Filled Polymer-based Thermal Bondlines.” Drs. Peter Borgesen, Unovis Solutions and Eric Cotts, Binghamton University, co-authored the paper;  Edward Peters, Sabic Innovative Plastics, for “Polyphenylene Ether Macromonomers III, Enhancement of Dielectric Materials,” Scott Fisher and Hua Guo, both of Sabic Innovative Plastics, co-authored; and Scott Hinaga, Cisco Systems, Inc., for, “Effect of Conductor Surface Roughness upon Measured Loss and Extracted Values of PCB Laminate Material Dissipation Factor.” His co-authors were: Marina Koledintseva, Praveen Reddy Anmula and James Drewniak, all of Missouri University of Science & Technology.
Honorable Mention awards for International papers were presented to three winners. Akira Takeuchi, Nissin Inc., won for “Effect of Plasma Surface Treatment for Peel Strength of Metallization Based on Polyimide.” Co-authors were: Takahiro Kurahashi and Kiyotaka Kato, both of K-tech Research Corp. “A Test Methodology for Copper Dissolution in Lead-free Alloys,” earned Christopher Hunt, National Physical Laboratory an honorable mention along with co-author Davide Di Maio, also of National Physical Laboratory. Gerjan Diepstraten, Cobar Europe B.V., took an honorable mention for “Estimating Stencil Life and Ideal Heating Profile of Solder Paste Using Advanced Thermo-Gravimetric Analysis.” His co-author was Dr. Di Wu, also of Cobar Europe B.V.

Almost 100 papers were submitted for consideration. They were judged on technical content, originality, test procedures and data used to deduce conclusions, quality of illustrations and clarity and professionalism of writing. Each team of Best Paper authors will receive a $1,000 honorarium, and all authors will receive a plaque.
Submit to FacebookSubmit to Google PlusSubmit to TwitterSubmit to LinkedInPrint Article