iNEMI Releases Counterfeit Parts Assessment Print E-mail
Written by Mike Buetow   
Friday, 07 June 2013 15:22

HERNDON, VA -- A new white paper from an International Electronics Manufacturing Initiative task group takes a comprehensive view of the counterfeit components problem by surveying the possible points of entry in the supply chain and assessing the impact of counterfeit components on the industry at various points of use.

"Development of a Methodology to Determine Risk of Counterfeit Use," released today by The Counterfeit Components Project, also proposes a risk assessment calculator that can be used to quantify the risks of procuring counterfeit parts. This risk calculator is aimed at all segments of the supply chain and can be used by component manufacturers, product designers, distributors, loss estimators, industry groups and end-users. Click here to download the whitepaper.

"This white paper summarizes the excellent work the Counterfeit Components team has done to date to assess the current situation, define the issues, and recommend strategies for dealing with the counterfeit problem in the electronics manufacturing supply chain," said Bill Bader, CEO of iNEMI. "This is an issue globally that impacts the entire international supply chain, not only financially but also in terms of product quality and reliability. When put to use, the methodologies this group has developed will go a long way toward helping companies assess their risk so that they can address weak points in their supply chains. The team has decided to share this information with industry rather than restricting it to only project participants."

Webinars Scheduled
The Counterfeit Components Assessment Project will hold two free webinars to review the methodologies developed by the project team. These methodologies, which help suppliers, equipment providers and end users quantify the risk of counterfeit components for their products or parts, cover three areas:  the risk of counterfeit use, risk of untrusted supply sources, and counterfeit loss and total cost estimations.

The first webinar is scheduled for June 11 at 11 a.m. Eastern Daylight Time (EDT, U.S.), 4 p.m. British Summer Time (London) / 3 p.m. GMT.  The second webinar will be held June 26 at 9 a.m. China Standard Time (June 25, 9:00 p.m. EDT).

The webinars are free, but require advance registration. For more information and to register for the webinar, click the following links:

Links to download the three tools will be provided with registration confirmation and may also be requested directly from iNEMI by contacting Mark Schaffer ( This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it ).

 

Search

Search

Login

CB Login

Language

Language

English French German Italian Portuguese Russian Spanish
 


Printed Circuit Design & Fab Magazine on Facebook